Welcome to New NOSB Members

The National Organic Standards Board (NOSB) is a citizen advisory board that offers input to the National Organic Program on allowed materials and practices in certified organic production. Appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, the NOSB meets twice a year to review organic materials and policies.

Secretary Tom Vilsack recently appointed six new members to the NOSB who will begin serving their terms in 2016.

The new NOSB members are:

Jesse Buie (pictured), organic producer representative, a CCOF-certified farmer in Mississippi with a distinguished background in health care administration and aviation.

Harriet Behar, environmental protection and resource conservation expert, an organic farmer and organic certification expert from Wisconsin who has advised multitudes of organic farmers and ranchers through her position with the Midwest Organic and Sustainable Education Service (MOSES).

Emily Oakley, organic producer representative, co-owner of a 20-acre certified organic farm in Oklahoma. Oakley wrote the Vegetable Grower’s Guide to Organic Certification, a guide that explains the value of organic certification to young people starting to farm.

Scott Rice, accredited certifying agent representative, is the Organic Accreditation and Quality Manager for the Washington State Department of Agriculture’s Organic Program.

Vena A-dae Romero-Briones, public or consumer interest representative, is a consultant for the First Nations Development Institute. Romero-Briones co-founded the Cochiti Youth Experience, an organization that connects native Cochiti youth with their farming heritage and healthy food traditions.

Daniel Seitz, public or consumer interest representative, is Executive Director of the Council on Naturopathic Medical Education.

CCOF congratulates each of these new NOSB members.